top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJohn Quidilla

SAY HELLO TO BADGIRL RIRI

Updated: May 30, 2018

I'm going to give you a run down from when I bought my car till now. I purchased this 1990 Mazda Miata back in June 15 2017, I bought it not knowing how to drive a manual transmission. The original plan for this project was to learn how to "drift". The Miata came with a couple of upgrades from the previous owner.

Parts list: coil overs, a bolt on roll bar, OEM Hardtop and some aggressive wheels & tires; (15x8 offset 20mm 225/45/15 BF Goodrich G- Force Rival Tires)


Day 1: How I got the Miata.


The inspiration of this build was to make it into a VIP GT inspired Miata, so the first "mod" I did to the car were new wheels and tires. I purchased the Chikara RS10 in high polish 15 x 8.5 +17 all around, wrapped with Toyo Proxes T1R 195/45. The wheel and tire combination has a little minor stretch to it, definitetly different from the previous setup.



After adjusting the coil overs the car wasn't low enough, so the next purchase for the project were some Ebay lips to really give it that slam look. The front lip is a GV Style, rear is an OE style lip with a polyurethane universal diffuser attached to it. For the side I got a pair of GF style side skirts. A month later after installing the kit, the rear diffuser broke off. Till this day i haven't put it back on :( (sad face)




At this point I was content on how the Miata looked. Then I started looking at wheels on Facebook Marketplace, that's is when I got caught slippin'. I saw these discontinued Keskin KT1 16 x 9 +15 with Yokohama S Drive 205/50 non staggered. They were taller and wider than my current setup, going back and forth with the seller we found an agreed price. I couldn't pass up on a good deal. I ended busting a mission to his place at 10 PM for them I traveled about an hour and a half for them. Once I got back to my location, almost 2 AM. I did a quick test fit, knowing the wheels came off a BMW E30. The Yokohamas were too meaty for my liking and different from the styling that I want to do. The tires i got for them are Falken Azenis 205/40, they have a baby stretch on them nothing too crazy.


I never really liked how the Miata tail lights look because of the amber/orange corner turn signal. I upgraded them and bought a pair of Altezza style tail lights. Obviously I'm not going to rock it like that so I sprayed them a few coats of candy apple red (spray paint) and finished it off with 4-6 passes of 2X clear coat.



Their is also a few interior pieces that I purchased/customized but not shown below but will list them anyways.


I purchased a Junction Produce pretzel and tassel combination off Ebay (rep).

I ended up wrapping the shift boot, center console cover and e brake handle cover with bamboo fabric.

I also wrapped the upper door cards with panda fabric to give the bamboo a nice contrast.

I had sounds installed, I had them put in the head unit, tweeters and a 12 inch sub woofer with an amp.

I purchased was a NRG Short Hub, Quick Release and Steering Wheel.


And now you've been updated with Badgirl Riri. If you enjoyed this write up, please let me know in the comments.


If you guys enjoyed this Article, let us know what you think in the comments.


Follow us on our Social Media.



42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page